RSS

Getting developer mode on a Google Nexus 7 Android 4.2

15 Nov
Getting developer mode on a Google Nexus 7 Android 4.2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I eventually took the plunge and got myself a 32Mb Google Nexus 7

My choice was based upon the following

  1. Google backs it.
  2. Canonical have chosen it to release Ubuntu 12 on it
  3. It is easy to root
  4. It is easy to revert to the shipped O/S
  5. It is cool, and the right price (I.M.H.O.)

I turned it on and found developer mode so that I could root it, and went to bed.

The next day I switched it on and great, it upgraded to the new release of the OS that shipped that day.

Not so great, I went looking for developer mode to do my dirty deeds and lo and behold, it had gone.

I looked everywhere, but could not find it. Stumped!

I even tried R.T.F.M. – Computer support people will know what that means.

After much searching on the Internet I resorted to posting the problem on various BBS’s, sorry, users groups 🙂

Oooh just I hate doing that, it’s so not me. (I sound like a girly there) 😉

This is the solution for anyone lucky enough to be in the same position:

Go to settings -> About Phone, and tap it
Scroll down to build number
Tap it seven times, after the third tap you will see a dialogue that says “You are four steps from being a developer”
Keep tapping and you have got your developer settings back.

It couldn’t have been simpler 🙂

Thanks to nxtablet@googlemail.com for the info.

Now where is that spanner and wire cutters…………….

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Getting developer mode on a Google Nexus 7 Android 4.2

  1. lista de email

    December 10, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    wow. this blog is truly a gold mine. i will actually try these tips and let you know how they work out! thanks again mate. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

     
  2. Flasch

    January 7, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    Awesome. Saved me hours of wasted time I bet. Thanks for sharing!

     
  3. reddit nsfw gifs

    January 12, 2013 at 2:07 am

    Appreciating the time and energy you put into your website and in depth information you
    offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information.
    Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

     
  4. Darshan

    January 17, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I tried this. But still does not show developer options.

     
    • purplewelshy

      January 17, 2013 at 8:47 pm

      Hi,
      I take it it is the build number you are clicking on. After your third click, do you get: “You are four steps from being a developer”.
      If not, I find it very strange. The guy who seems to be the expert on all things Nexus is: nxtablet@googlemail.com.
      Perhaps if you him an email he might be able to shed some light on it. Please let me know how you get on.
      Thanks.
      Chris.

       
  5. http://kissing.cz/blogs/brigitteco/

    January 19, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I seriously feel this website needs a
    great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the advice!

     
  6. Loginto Inet

    February 14, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    First I thought this must be a kind of April the fool. What happend to Google that made to hide so far? Thanks a lot.

     
    • purplewelshy

      February 14, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      According to Google, they wanted to make it such that only people who really really needed it would get it.

       
  7. Erik SgtStar

    June 3, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    thanks for the info! Why do they have to try and be clever?

     
  8. Muralidharan (@muralidharan10)

    September 9, 2013 at 10:19 am

    Awesome!

     

Leave a Reply

 
